How to Create and Manage Custom Roles in GCP
In Google Cloud, Identity and Access Management (IAM) allows the administrator to authorize the use of specific resources. With IAM, you can adopt the security principle of least privilege, which gives only the required permissions. You can manage resources by deciding who(identity) and what access(role) can be given to the organization or owner. A role […]
In Google Cloud, Identity and Access Management (IAM) allows the administrator to authorize the use of specific resources. With IAM, you can adopt the security principle of least privilege, which gives only the required permissions. You can manage resources by deciding who(identity) and what access(role) can be given to the organization or owner.
A role is a set of permissions that control what operations can be performed on a particular resource. The three roles used to access resources are:
Required Permission
To create a custom role, you need to have the following permission: iam.roles.create
By default, the project owner has this permission. However, if you’re not an owner, you must have assigned the Organisation Role Administrator role (roles/iam.organizationRoleAdmin) or IAM Role Administrator role (roles/iam.roleAdmin).
Make a new custom role
To create new custom roles from scratch, follow the given steps:

Custom roles with predefined roles
You can also create custom roles from existing predefined roles. Here are the steps to follow:
Updating the Custom roles
The read-modify-write pattern is commonly used to update the roles. However, it can cause friction if two or more owners of a project attempt to change roles simultaneously. To avoid this clash, IAM uses the etag property. It helps to determine whether the custom roles have changed since the last request. Update the roles on the roles page by following the steps:
Disable a custom role
Select the project from which you want to disable the role and then:
Deleting a custom role
Click on the role you want to delete and choose to delete at the top of the page. Deleted roles leave a trace in your allow policies, but do not have any effect on any role bindings. Within seven days, you can undelete a role. In this timeframe, the Google Cloud console shows the role as deleted user can opt to undelete within the period of 7 days after that the role is permanently deleted.
Sneha Farkya
FinOps enthusiastProduct Manager at Economize with over 3 years of experience, focused on FinOps strategies and cloud cost optimization. Dedicated to helping organizations streamline cloud expenses and drive financial efficiency.
Maximize Cloud Efficiency and Optimize Costs
Get started free in our sandbox or book a personalized call with our experts






















